Fried tofu of deliciousness

Bread and fry anything and it is even more tasty than it started out. True story.

Fried tofu tastes delicious with just a bit of salt in oil. But sometimes you have to watch that it doesn’t stick to the pan. So, I decided to be ambitious the other day and do a spiced breading with one of my favorite spiced dumpling spice mixes to a) help the tofu not stick, b) help the pieces brown and crunch better, and c) introduce a bit more deliciousness to the tasty exterior crunch.

First I measured out the spices, more than I needed so that I could use the same mix again. I’m thinking ahead to the eggplant I bought… maybe a curry soup for them… mmm! We’ll see.  Here you see the seeds all laid out in their little plastic baggie: cumin seeds,  fennel seeds, nigella (aka black onion, aka kalonji seeds), and fenugreek seeds. One part each, except for fenugreek which is only half a part. I think I need to update my Firefox dictionary because I know my spelling is awful, but in this case both fenugreek (which means greek hay in Latin, also known as methi in, I think, Hindi) and nigella (with the colorful common names, “devil in a bush” and “love in the mist”) are really words.

Cumin, fennel, nigella, fenugreek

Next, in keeping with my take on the yummy curried dumpling recipe, instead of wheat flour I used besan, which is ground chickpea instead of wheat.

1.  Chop up the tofu: quarter the short end then slice somewhere between 1/4″-1/2″.

2.  Dip three times: flour, egg, flour. Easiest to use three bowls. Salt as often as you feel like it at any point, but at least once before they are fried and once just after.

3.  Place into frying pan with heated oil about 10 seconds after the spices. I used about a teaspoon of the spice mix, but I could have used more, or maybe dry roasted it and ground it up and added it to the flour.  It takes maybe a quarter to a half cup of oil to come up halfway up the sides of the tofu when the pan is completely full. I use olive oil, but anything clarified, anything that won’t burn, will do. Turn a couple times while on medium high to high heat till browned and delicious. If you have any left over it’s tasty toasted in the toaster oven till warm and crunchy.

The eggplant I fried the next day in about the same way, but with wheat flour and less of the spice mix because I like the taste of the aubergine to come through. They were great too! Such a tangy-addictive flavor. It was all gone before it had even cooled. Maybe I’ll buy more next time. (:

 

Edit: as requested, a copy of the light curry dumplings.

click to see a larger image and read the text!
Leave a Reply

