Monster Cookies

When I was first given a plate of these cookies a few years ago I knew they’d become one of my favorites. Looking at the recipe they’ve got just about everything but the kitchen sink. Kitchen sink cookies notwithstanding, they’ve at least got most of my favorite cookie ingredients: peanut butter, chocolate, and oatmeal. I asked her for the recipe and she just sent me to the internet with two words, “monster cookies,” saying that it was the same recipe pretty much all over the internet. Now that’s a little intriguing I thought, everything’s got variation, even puppy chow! But no, everywhere I looked was the same recipe. Then I discovered the original.

Monster Cookies.

12 eggs (one carton)
1 lbs butter (one box)
3 lbs peanut butter (4 jars, for some jars)
2 lbs brown sugar (one bag)
4 cups white sugar
8 tsp. baking soda
1 Tbs vanilla
18 cups oatmeal (a large tin, for some tins, or a tin and a couple cups)
1 lbs chocolate chips (one bag)
1 lbs M&Ms (one bag)

Cream, mix, combine, drop as you’d expect. You’ve made cookies before.

OK, now I don’t think I could eat that many cookies. But there is something awesome about using up whole number giant quantities of the things you need. And though I still haven’t made the full recipe I think it would be a really neat thing to do. Maybe just once. It would certainly feed all the neighborhood kids, just like my grand and great grandmothers used to do. Their recipes started out with a dozen eggs too, much to my own mother’s initial dismay when she first attempted cookies on her own… but that’s another story.

So, to make life easier for those who want to replicate, and so that you too aren’t left baking all day for two days, here’s the recipe I usually use. I used this site (which the nerd in me loves) for conversions. Because sometimes google calculator does NOT know what the density of chocolate chips is. Silly thing.

Ahem.

Monster Cookies. 1/4 recipe.

3 eggs
1 c. white sugar
1 stick butter
1 tsp. vanilla
1 and 1/8 c. brown sugar
4 and 1/2 c. oatmeal
2 tsp. baking soda
12 oz. (1.9 cups) peanut butter
1/2 c. chocolate chips
1/2 c. peanut butter filled M&Ms

1. Cream soft butter and white sugar until it lightens in color (then you know you’ve introduced air to it) with a hand or stand mixer. 2. Beat eggs a little in a separate bowl. Beat eggs, brown sugar, vanilla into the creamed butter/sugar. 3. Then beat in peanut butter. Careful when adding the peanut butter with a hand mixer not to overload the hand mixer and burn it out. 4. Combine the oatmeal and soda making sure there are no lumps in the soda when you measure it or you’ll get bitter bites in the cookies. 5. Fold dry into the wet ingredients with a spatula or spoon (or just use the stand mixer) adding a cup or two at a time. 6. Fold in the chips and M&Ms (or your favorite chunky ingredients). 7. Drop onto parchment lined cookie sheets. 8. Bake at 350F about 6-15 minutes depending on cookie size. They’ll just start to brown on the edge and will continue to cook on the sheet a few minutes after you take them out of the oven.

When I search online now I find much more variation than I did a few years ago. But I guess that’s just the way of both baking recipes and the internet. I like this recipe, so I guess I’ll stick with it. Well, I did change the M&Ms to peanut butter M&M’s and I often toss in a little salt, but it’s basically the same.

Many thanks to Bri, both for the original cookies and for the inspiration they gave me to make many more!

Leave a Reply

